Core Curriculum

Comprised of the common core and the core complement, the Core Curriculum is designed to develop lifelong learners and responsible citizens of the world.

The Core Curriculum promotes lifelong learning through:

  • Enthusiastic educational exchanges between learners and teachers
  • A commitment to teaching, scholarship and research
  • An insistence on high standards

Common Core

The common core is comprised of four courses taken over the first two years and a capstone experience taken in the senior year. The courses are:

  • Seeking Wisdom (portal course, taken in the first year)
  • What it Means to Be Human (literature course, taken in the first year)
  • Christianity in Dialogue with World Religions (religion course, taken in the sophomore year)
  • Philosophy and Responsibility (philosophy course, taken in the sophomore year)
  • Capstone Experience (taken in the senior year)

Core Complement

The core complement consists of elective options designed to supplement and support the common core while responding to the curricular needs and interests of the individual student. The requirements are:

  • Foreign languages (6 credits)
  • Literature (3 credits)
  • Religious and theological studies (3 credits)
  • Mathematics (3 credits)
  • Natural sciences (6 credits)
  • Social sciences (9 credits)
  • Visual and performing arts (3 credits)